Where did January go…? Ft Lauderdale

 

I know I know…. I am terrible at this. I promise I will try to do better.

I am focusing on making time for myself, but not just average time, reflective, planned time. Yoga, writing, stretching and reading. There needs to be more time in this hectic world that we sit and do what we want to do.

I am focusing on my health and fitness. eating well on the road is not always an easy endeavor, but I do make efforts. On a short layover you could grab a burger or sandwich, instead grab a salad…img_0613.jpg

So, I spent 5 weeks in the lovely Ft Lauderdale, Florida. I was assisting the front office at the Harbor Beach Resort and Spa. It was a great team, amazing property and city.

I could not have asked for a better way to spend some winter months. I was able to be in more of a leadership role at this hotel and assist some employees on interview ideas and trainings.

 

IMG_0642

This is just a part of what my view were. I would try to run and work-out at the Ft Lauderdale Beach, the public beach and boardwalk was right around the corner from the hotel. It is so beautiful. There truly is something about being on the water.20180113_120404.jpg

I spent a day at the Everglades as well, we saw alligator wrestling and learned that the IMG_0659.JPGalligator wrestlers volunteer to collect gators that are in areas that could endanger humans. So the go out alone, capture the animal and instead of them getting killed and used for clothing they keep them alive and in zoos or habitats that are available. as we went around the park on an air boat we saw so many animals. Birds in the trees and the water. Kind of creepy that if I leaned over the edge of the boat you could see the bottom in some spots and who knows what is down there.

IMG_0704.JPG

 

 

 

The lily pads, flower and animals were so pretty.

 

 

 

 

Below is just a small portion of what the Everglades look like. You can follow the canals from East to West all the way across Florida

 

20180122_103539.jpg

 

IMG_0715.JPG

 

I saw about 8 gators all over the everglades. They are amazing creatures.

 

This was our alligator wrestler. Incredible.

IMG_0729.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

I also had the chance to hold a baby gator myself on one of the other tours I did while I was in the city. it was adorable and I wanted to keep him.

IMG_0799.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

Don’t you just want him in your backyard???

 

 

Always the worst part of a OSR and assignments is …Leaving. By the time I make img_0816.jpgconnections, really get to know people it is time to pack my bags. I hope that I will be able to keep these relationships for years to come, but it does not make it any easier.

Goodbye for now Ft Lauderdale.

Leave a comment