Now back in D.C. Metro- Gaylord Life

20180212_180535_HDR.jpg

Again, I am on the East Coast, I almost do not know what the west coast feels like anymore. Which may be ok right now with all the snow pictures I have seen.

I am currently helping at the Gaylord National, at National Harbor. It is technically in Oxon Hill, MD, but across the bridge is VA, and a few miles away is DC.

IMG_0819.JPG

 

The harbor has the huge Ferris Wheel, I have not rode it yet, but maybe while I am here. There is also that gigantic television outside that when I first arrived was showing the Olympics everyday. Now is has movies or whatever they choose. It is a great outdoor area I am really enjoying it.

 

The Gaylord is a huge hotel 2,000 rooms and about that many employees too. It is adding a whole new layer to my Marriott resume. it is Crazy!

 

We have had some fun and interesting groups in house already since I have been here. First, was an anime convention. So many kids, so many costumes of people I have never seen and do not understand, but it was impressive. Then last week was CPAC, it is a conservative political convention. Pence and Trump both spoke and let me tell you, security here was no joke. Medal detectors for employees, no one in or out of the building and I am sure every department of secret service, police, FBI, if they have a weapon they were here!  Trying to do your job and navigate that level of security was for sure interesting and something to remember.

 

Leave a comment